top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Louise Bell

Image review samples

Updated: Aug 18, 2020


Being able to work in this format, helps me identify key components to what does and does not work when choosing my final images.


- The reason I do not like this image is because I feel that there is too much background distractions and the crop is wrong.







- Similarly, the background of this image is distracting from the foreground subject.


The exposure of the image is too light also this could be improved.















- Whilst there are many attributes to this image I like, a haze like glare which happened in the developing process seems to take away from the photo.



















- I do not like that I am looking directly at the camera.



















- The eye in the image is distracting, again, I think the look directly into the camera takes away from the emotion in these types of images.





















+ This image feels almost like an entrapment. The sheet takes over. In a way it comes across ghostly.















+ I loved this image, the positioning of the body and neck and also the delicate placing of the hand down the side. It feels emotive.











+ Similarly the placement I feel is strong. The curtain falling across his face and an intimate angle again feels emotive.












+ I enjoy the way the light bounces off the torso. The image feels protective and more closed off compared to the rest.











+ Aesthetically the image is dream like, I really like the performative and movement style in which this shot.













+ From the bow of the head to the delicate placing of the sheet over the figure, this is one of my favorite shots.

I also think that the fact my partner really took my message across and helped me get images that we are both proud of makes the whole project worthwhile.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bibliography 303

Cole, Teju. 2020. “Smell the Ink and Drift Away: Why I Find Solace in Photobooks.” The Guardian, February 24, 2020. http://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2020/feb/24/teju-cole-photobooks-fernweh. Ed

bottom of page